Charan SinghArchives

His party, Lok Dal, wins 41 seats in the Lok Sabha


Elected to Parliament for a second term from Baghpat, Uttar Pradesh. Election results a major setback for his party, the Lok Dal. While the second largest political party in Parliament after the Congress (I), it could win only 41 Parliamentary seats (with 9.4% of the national vote) against 384 (with 43% of the votes) to the Congress (I). The remnants of the Janata Party win 19% of the votes polled, but only 31 seats in Parliament.

Indira Gandhi wins, once again.